China Time, and the livin’ is easy…

fish are jumpin’…and the AQI is high…

Okay, so in all seriousness, living in China is certainly not like home, but it is not as different as I thought it would be. I suppose that somehow I’ve acquired this assumption that Asian cultures are just so very different from my own, so when I find out that I would be traveling to China I didn’t really know what to expect. However, it really is not so different from home. Granted, I have been spending far too much time in my living quarters whenever I do not have to be at work…a habit I am working on breaking, but I will take a moment to be a typical whiny American and conclude that this is substantially due to my lack of being able to speak Chinese and there is little I am able to accomplish w/o such an important tool or w/o a Chinese babysitter (essentially). I am able to go grocery shopping by myself, and can manage to order food at some restaurants (the ones that have pictures on their menus and especially ones that have some English). Although both of these somewhat independent activities can result in me buying something to which I don’t totally know what it is and which turns out to simply taste just dreadful (nbd).
The other part of my hermit activities is just a side effect of my current life satisfaction level and even if I were to be home in my New York apartment right now I would be having just as hard a time at breaking my bad habit of hiding out in the safety of my apartment. It’s as if I think the world will wait for me to be ready to live and not to just exist. News flash, it won’t, I am aware I’m missing out on how good life could be if I would just relax a bit. It’s just easier said than done sometimes. A lot of the time I feel like I’m stuck in this trap of settling for feeling like nothing to avoid feeling. “If it works, don’t fix it.” Well, the thing is I know it doesn’t work, and I want to fix it. At least I’m aware of the issues, acceptance is the first step…right? Now…if I could just get myself to get moving, no one is trapping me, but me.

Leave a Reply

