“Food for the Soul” and for sanity!

Yay! My “Food for the Soul” book came in the mail today! (Along with some other literature I ordered.)

Okay, so you may be wondering what on earth “Food for the Soul” is and why I am so excited that this book came in the mail today.

Well, simply put, I’m a food addict, and the book “Food for the Soul” is a book a daily meditations for Food Addicts!

I know that’s pretty blunt and open, and perhaps I take after my childhood priest who was out in the open about being an alcoholic, but my issues with food is something that clearly my body can’t always hide, soooo…why should I?! Plus, maybe my experiences and struggles will reach someone and help them to not feel so alone and helpless if they are struggling with similar things!

What is one of the most interesting and one of the most frustrating things about being a food addict is how my food addiction can play up and highlight some of my other character defects.

Basically,

IF I eat sugar, flour, or wheat => (then) my chemical imbalance both affects & effects my mind s.t (such that) I become depressed or anxious or abnormally tired/lazy or angry or sad or inferior or worthless or co-dependent…(etc.)

There are a bunch of things, and even though I’ve already listed a lot, I will stop there

You may be thinking “oh my gosh, that is a lot of things to feel at one time…”, but I don’t feel everything all at once always it’s usually one or two maybe a few, but never everything..I mean after all…I’m not crazy! Although… I could totally add “feeling crazy/insane” to the list above. (lol)

Also, notice I did not make the above statement and “iff” statement; “iff” meaning “if and ONLY if”.

“if and only if would imply the following:

“iff I do not eat sugar flour and wheat then I will never feel or act any of those feelings I described above…and well that is just not true. I am human. We ALL have bad days! Staying abstinent allows me to handle those harder days with a clear head and healthy body, and I also learn to let things go; which results with me being able to enjoy more days than if I was eating some of my favorite comfort foods (overload of carbs and ice-cream) and feeling like poop.

So with that, I leave you with today’s “Food for the Soul” topic:

“Compassion for Myself”:

meaning (to me)…. that eating unhealthy is no longer a “comfort” as it is harmful to my mind, body, and soul. It has become a form of self-abuse for when I am feeling bad about something (could be anything) from…doing poorly in school or just not sleeping enough and feeling tired.

“For today, I choose to love, care for, and nurture myself.”ย ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on ““Food for the Soul” and for sanity!

    1. It really is a wonderful book! There’s another book (sort of related) that I spotted in B&N recently about women and how their relationship with food correlates with their relationship with God, I haven’t read it but it sounds interesting. And your welcome for the visit, I’ll be sure to check it out again sometime. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Sounds great. That food/God connection sounds interesting as well. Let me know more, and please stop in anytime!

        Scoop

Leave a Reply

